Starting October 1st, 2008:
CMG ARCHITECTS was established in 1989 for the practice of Architecture, Planning and Urban Design, with an emphasis on personal client service. We consider ourselves good designers and problem solvers, capable of skillful research and evaluation, with the experience to execute commissions creatively and precisely.
The Firm is organized so that the principals are the hands-on, primary participants in all phases of the work. At various times during the work other staff members participate according to needed expertise, and the team is always kept at a personable size with a principal coordinating the effort. We encourage the client’s intense participation in order to assure ourselves that the important issues have been clearly communicated between client and design team. This method facilitates a thorough exploration of the client’s needs and objectives, contributes to the precision of the results and provides for a continuity of the work.
It is the nature of our profession that we engage the services of consultants to supplement our architectural and planning expertise, and we are sometimes engaged as consultants to other firms. We are experienced in both roles.
At the present time the firm is preparing construction drawings for two student residences and a new gymnasium at the Riverview School in East Sandwich, MA. These two projects are part of an ongoing Capital Improvement Plan, which CMG Architects created for the Riverview School in 1996. Three other phases of the Plan have been completed, a new Dining Hall for 100 persons and two classroom buildings. The planning and building process for Riverview has given us a great deal of experience with the environmental review process of the Cape Cod Commission, and our contact with the Commission will continue with the review of the new student residences.
An example of our work with sensitive sites and structures includes an addition and alterations to the Cambridge Boat Club. The original building had been built in 1909 and moved to its present site from one quarter mile down river in 1944. An analysis of the foundations revealed that the original piles were unstable and that the building had no lateral bracing. The new work required lifting the building in place, renovating the foundations and adding a new wing. This work was completed under the scrutiny of the Cambridge Conservation Commission, Massachusetts Historic Commission, MDC and the US Corps of Engineers.
We have completed the design of a music and performance center and are seeing to the completion of a new Academic Center at Riverview School. We are also coordinating the effort to design a new sewage treatment plant for the same campus.
Our work has been cited for design excellence by the American Institute of Architects, the Boston Society of Architects, the Victorian Society in America and the Associated General Contractors of Massachusetts. Completed projects have been published in Architectural Record, Portfolio Magazine and the Boston Globe.
Let us help you with your next project...